Trapped in an open cage (Part 4)

 

*Return to the first parts to follow the plot* 

Trapped in an open Cage (Part 3)

**

We were desperately following the distant light, the distant hope.  Dark was sneaking slowly, diminishing the innocent moonlight. The cold was penetrating into our bones making our bodies shiver to resist the chilly weather of the desert. We couldn’t open our mouths, fearing to be thirsty if we talked… or fearing to interrupt the symphony of the hungry howls dominating the place. Yet, I wasn’t afraid: I am not alone, and Mark is here beside me. If any disaster occurred here, I am safe. But what if something occurred to Mark?

I just denied any terrifying thoughts. I thought only of reading Rose and Emily without even scrutinizing their faces. Although the moonlight was enough to lighten the way, it wasn’t enough to show the small details of their faces, the places were secrets are hidden. Talk to them, I told myself. But I quickly discovered the harsh truth of “I am not brave enough to initiate a damn conversation!” I kept walking silently and hopelessly, waiting in a great fervor for someone to talk, so I can force myself into their conversation and do my thing. Curiosity kills, but it is satisfying.

Minutes passed…

No one talked. I must do something. I suddenly stopped, holding Mark’s hand not to leave me.

“What’s wrong Cave?” Mark asked.

“I am exhausted. We have been walking for long.”

“Hey. Why did you stop? Is everything ok?” Rose said anxiously. She was six feet apart and afraid.

“NO. I am-”

“shshsh… Yes, everything is Ok.” Mark said.

Mark pulled by hand trying to move me, but I resisted. I was exhausted, and I really craved for a talk with them, and this won’t be achieved unless we set and talk. So, I delayed Mark as possible as I could, waiting until Rose or Emily come to see what’s happening.

“Mark, please wait. Let me just relax for seconds. I am tired.” I acted it perfectly.

“What’s wrong guys?” Rose wondered, and she was worried.

Once I heard her voice near us, I felt ecstatic. My plan is going to work.

“Nothin-”

“I am tired.” I interrupted Mark not to destroy my plan.

“Why don’t we take some rest? It seems like you are tired.” I asked her and trying to make her agree.

“Yeah. I am tired also. I think we gotta set for some minutes and then continue. Emily, Come on!” Rose replied.

*Oh my god! It really worked!*

“I thought you will be the first one to refuse. What the hell is going on guys? We. Are. Lost. We. Are. Going. To. Die! We should be following the light to return and find the treasure we all crave.”

“But we are tired! The light seems too distant, and we are at the beginning of the night. Mark, please, let us have some rest.” Rose adjured him, and her tone was really convincing.

“But-”

“Without excuses, I am too tired. We are going to take a rest. Period.” Rose interrupted him.

“Ok. Fine. I won’t take a rest. I am going to continue. If I found any mean of help, I will return to you. If you are going to leave, please follow the footsteps. I think the moonlight is strong enough.”

He didn’t wait. He walked away. I kept looking at him, waiting for him to turn around so I can tell him to come; he didn’t. He just left…

 

“Don’t worry. He will return. I know this type of guys.” Rose told me, smiling.

“I hope so.”

“Now. Take off your jacket.” She was taking off her jacket.

“Excuse me?”

She sighed. “We are going to set on them, Dirty minder.” She smiled.

I took off my Jacket and throw it on the ground. I felt cold infiltrating into my body more strongly. It’s ok. I am only craving one thing: to read them. We sat down. I stretched my hands on the sand and my legs in front of me. I was now super tired. It seemed that we are going to sit here for hours…

“So, why did you come here? Do you believe in the treasure and the glory behind it?” Rose asked me, trying to open a conversation.

“Of course. I believe that I and Mark will find it, and we are going to be the most exceptional team in this adventure.”

“You are so confident. I hope you will achieve that. But you know? I didn’t come with Emily to find that treasure. Actually, we were coming to have some fun.”

“What do you mean?”

“I really don’t believe that the treasure is that exquisite gifts nor the glorious position we will post after the adventure. The real treasure is the good moments I will hopefully have here, but after escaping this goddamn desert.”

“Maybe you are right. But success isn’t bad, is it?”

“Sure. Sometimes we need this satisfaction to feel safe… to feel that we are here… in this world.”

“Satisfaction is a thing we created. We never felt satisfied. We always need more. We lie on ourselves every time we mark a goal as Final. With every achievement, there will be a bigger, glorious one.”

“This is about goals, not dreams. Dreams are gratifying.”

“What’s the difference?”

“Dreams are infinite… are the last step in anything. Goals occur, but dreams never occur.”

“So what’s your dream?”

“My dream is to escape from this place.”

We all laughed. Something in myself told me that she is right. Dreams never occur. Although we laughed, our laugh voices seemed to be desperate. But Rose didn’t give me the chance to think too much. She continued…

“What’s yours?”

“To hear Emily’s voice.”

Again we laughed. I don’t know why I said that… maybe because I wanted to convince myself that Rose was joking… maybe because I wanted to hear Emily… maybe because she is hiding something …  maybe she is like me, but she can’t act anymore… I don’t know.

“What do you want to hear?” She suddenly talked, saving me from drowning in my thought. Her voice was really new to my ear. It was sad and happy at the same time. It was unique…

“Nothing. Just join us.”

“I don’t find a reason to join you. I am just—”

She was about to continue, but we heard a loud scream. The sound seemed to be near us.

          “Is this Mark?” Rose queried.

Leave a comment